Types of Hodgkin lymphoma

There are different types of Hodgkin lymphoma. It’s grouped using the World Health Organisation’s (WHO) lymphoma classification system:

Classical types

These are the most common types of Hodgkin lymphoma. There are four subtypes:

  • Nodular sclerosing
  • Mixed cellularity
  • Lymphocyte-depleted
  • Lymphocyte-rich.

HIV-related lymphoma

Having HIV (human immunodeficiency virus) can increase the risk of developing lymphoma and affect the way lymphoma is treated. We have more information on HIV-related lymphoma.

Nodular lymphocyte-predominant type

This is a rare type of Hodgkin lymphoma. About 5% of all Hodgkin lymphomas diagnosed are this type.

Your doctors can tell which type you have by examining the cells under the microscope.

Back to Understanding Hodgkin lymphoma

What is cancer?

There are more than 200 different kinds of cancer, each with its own name and treatment.

What is Hodgkin lymphoma?

Hodgkin lymphoma is cancer of the lymphatic system. A specific type of white blood cell helps identify the disease.