Types of non-Hodgkin lymphoma

There are many different types of NHL. Your doctors need to know which type you have so they can give you the best treatment.

B-cell and T-cell lymphomas

Lymphomas develop from abnormal lymphocytes. There are two main types of lymphocyte: B-cell lymphocytes and T-cell lymphocytes. If a lymphoma developed from abnormal B-cell lymphocytes, it is called a B-cell lymphoma. If it developed from abnormal T-cell lymphocytes, it is called a T-cell lymphoma.

Types of B-cell lymphoma

B-cell lymphomas are more common than T-cell lymphomas. About 9 out of 10 people diagnosed with NHL (90%) have a B-cell lymphoma.

The most common types of B-cell lymphoma are:

Other less common types include:

Types of T-cell lymphoma

T-cell lymphomas are much less common than B-cell lymphomas. There are a number of different types of T-cell lymphoma. They include:

We have more detailed information about all these different types of lymphoma and their treatment. For other rare types of lymphoma, call us on 0808 808 00 00. We can give you more information about your illness and its treatment.

Can you spare 5 minutes to help us improve our information about lymphoma? Please fill in our lymphoma information survey.

Back to Understanding non-Hodgkin lymphoma

What is non-Hodgkin lymphoma?

In non-Hodgkin lymphoma, blood cells called lymphocytes become abnormal. It is the fifth most common cancer in the UK.