There are many types of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). Your doctor needs to know which type you have so that they can give you the best treatment.

What are B-Cell and T-cell lymphomas?

Lymphomas develop from abnormal lymphocytes. There are two main types of lymphocyte: B-cell lymphocytes and T-cell lymphocytes.

If a lymphoma developed from abnormal B-cell lymphocytes, it is called a B-cell lymphoma. If it developed from abnormal T-cell lymphocytes, it is called a T-cell lymphoma.

Types of B-cell lymphoma

B-cell lymphomas are more common than T-cell lymphomas. About 9 out of 10 people diagnosed with NHL (90%) have a B-cell lymphoma.

The most common types of B-cell lymphoma are:

Other less common types include:

Types of T-cell lymphoma

T-cell lymphomas are much less common than B-cell lymphomas. There are a number of different types of T-cell lymphoma. They include:

Lymphoma that starts in the brain

Lymphomas that start in the brain or spinal cord are called primary central nervous system lymphomas (PCNSL). They are rare and usually grow quickly.

How we can help

Macmillan Cancer Support Line
The Macmillan Support Line offers confidential support to people living with cancer and their loved ones. If you need to talk, we'll listen.
0808 808 00 00
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm
Email us
Get in touch via this form
Chat online
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm
Online Community
An anonymous network of people affected by cancer which is free to join. Share experiences, ask questions and talk to people who understand.
Help in your area
What's going on near you? Find out about support groups, where to get information and how to get involved with Macmillan where you live.