Macmillan Professionals Excellence Awards

The Macmillan Professionals Excellence Awards are an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contribution Macmillan professionals make to cancer services.

About the awards

A photograph of the winners at the Macmillan Professionals Excellence Awards 2020

Now in their 10th year, our prestigious and independent awards highlight excellence across the UK and the impact of Macmillan professionals and teams who have gone above and beyond expectations to do whatever it takes to support people living with cancer.

The awards allow us to bring to life our unique spirit by showcasing not just what Macmillan professionals do, but how they do it – with heart, with strength, and with ambition.

Nominations are now closed

For further information on the shortlisting and judging details, please visit the nomination website.

Why should I nominate?

There are many reasons to nominate a professional or team for an award:

  • Gain industry-level recognition for an individual or team among their professional community, peers and the public.
  • Inspire others by highlighting best practice in your area which exceeds the high standards expected of Macmillan professionals.
  • Support future service development by helping your nominee to evaluate their impact.
  • Personal development opportunities for nominees, thanks to a rigorous judging process, which includes a live presentation.
  • Receive credible feedback to help develop and further advance your nominee's practice.
  • Winners receive an award, including a certificate and PR opportunities.

Our award categories

The awards are presented in four categories:

Innovation Excellence

This category recognises nominees and teams who have introduced a new approach to service or project development and delivery. The initiative should demonstrate improved outcomes and experience for people living with cancer* and measurable improvements in the quality and effectiveness of a service or project.

Integration Excellence

This category recognises nominees and teams who have improved the coordination of services and specialities and enabled integration across settings such as acute, primary, social and voluntary or through digital services, to provide a seamless experience for people living with cancer*.

Quality Improvement Excellence

This category recognises nominees and teams who have made significant improvements within an existing service offered to people living with cancer*.

Whatever It Takes

Moving into its second year, the Whatever It Takes award category aims to recognise individuals and teams that have truly gone the extra mile. The nominee should demonstrate values of heart, strength and ambition through compassion, kindness, and teamwork.

This category is for the ‘unsung heroes’ – individuals or teams who have demonstrated extraordinary efforts to adapt, collaborate, advocate for others, shown great resilience and lead with compassion.

*Where we refer to supporting people living with cancer, it is important to acknowledge that those professionals working in palliative and end of life care support anyone with a life limiting illness irrespective of whether they have a cancer diagnosis or not.

2021 winners and finalists

Last year’s winners were announced at a ceremony held at the Kimpton Clocktower Hotel in Manchester on Tuesday 2 November 2021. The ceremony, hosted by actor and presenter Richard Blackwood, was attended by 300 health and social care professionals and guests.

It’s an enormous achievement to be considered for these prestigious awards. As well as congratulating the winners, we also want to acknowledge the phenomenal work of all the nominees and finalists. You should all be immensely proud, as the standard of applications this year was particularly high.

Our past winners and finalists

Get in touch

If you have any questions about the Macmillan Professionals Excellence Awards, please get in touch at