Macmillan Quality Environment Mark ®

The Macmillan Quality Environment Mark (MQEM) is a detailed quality framework used for assessing whether cancer care environments meet the standards required by people living with cancer. It is the first assessment tool of its kind in the UK.

The MQEM standards were developed in collaboration with over 400 people living with cancer and with numerous stakeholders, including the Department of Health. The MQEM programme initially awarded 14 pilot sites throughout the UK during 2009 and with continued new applications and 3-yearly renewals (where facilities have maintained the quality standards) the assessment rate has grown year-on-year. By the end of 2015 we had completed over 250 assessments.

The programme is ongoing and you can view the environments which have received this prestigious award.

Welcome to a new standard in cancer care

Whether you work in a hospital, hospice or a cancer and information support centre, we know that intelligent, sensitive design improves the wellbeing of people living with cancer. For instance, having enough space to chat in confidence to a nurse about your cancer diagnosis makes a real difference to how you cope with day-to-day life.

If I went to a reception area and saw the mark, it would give me confidence to know that I was going to be treated as a person and in the best way possible.

Rita, living with cancer

What does the standard mean?

In meeting the MQEM standards, you're demonstrating to users of your environment that it is:

  • welcoming and accessible to all
  • respectful of people's privacy and dignity
  • supportive to users' comfort and well-being
  • giving choice and control to people using your service 
  • listening to the voice of the user.

Once your environment has met the MQEM standards, the award is valid for a period of three years. Macmillan Cancer Support offers advice and support on an ongoing basis to enable you to continuously improve the physical environment within which people access your service.

Find out how to apply for the award.