Macmillan Professionals Excellence Awards

About the awards

Our awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution that Macmillan professionals make to cancer services. Your work is vital to improving the lives of people living with cancer, and we want you to know how much you are valued.

The awards are presented in three categories:

  • Innovation Excellence
  • Integration Excellence
  • Quality Improvement Excellence

COVID-19 update

To support the efforts to reduce the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19), and in line with government guidance, Macmillan has taken the difficult decision to pause the Macmillan Professionals Excellence Award nominations until later in the year and to postpone the judging days and Excellence Awards Ceremony. As a charity dedicated to supporting people affected by cancer and the professional workforce who support them, we take seriously our responsibility to you and your patients. We will keep you informed as to when nominations will open again for the 2020 awards.

Please note: If you have already submitted a nomination or started working on one, your details will available when you log in and won’t be lost. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact the team on

Benefits of submitting a nomination

  • Gain industry-level recognition for an individual or team among their professional community, peers and the public
  • Inspire others by highlighting best practice in your area which exceeds the high standards expected of Macmillan professionals
  • Support your nominees to measure and evaluate their impact, and support future service development
  • Provide the opportunity for nominees to commit to a rigorous judging process, including a live presentation, for their personal development
  • Receive credible feedback, which can help develop and further advance their practice
  • Winners receive an award, certificate, and PR opportunities

Macmillan professionals and teams can be nominated by Macmillan staff, managers or peers.

2019 Excellence Awards Ceremony

The 2019 winners were announced at a ceremony held at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole on Thursday 7 November 2019. The ceremony, hosted by Larry Lamb, presenter, author and actor, was attended by over 450 health and social care professionals and guests.

A person living with cancer hugging a Macmillan Professional.

Saying thank you

We hear from people living with cancer, as they thank our amazing Macmillan professionals and teams.

Saying thank you

We hear from people living with cancer, as they thank our amazing Macmillan professionals and teams.

2019 winners and finalists

Lifetime Achievement Award 2019

This prestigious award recognises one person’s tireless and inventive contribution to the development of cancer care. This year, it goes to someone truly special who has sought to improve cancer services since the very start of her career.

Integration Excellence Award 2019

This category recognises nominees and teams who have improved the coordination of services and enabled integration across settings such acute, primary, social and voluntary or through digital services, to provide a seamless experience for people living with cancer.

Excellence Awards finalists 2019

Choosing our winners from such an amazing and inspiring selection of people wasn’t easy. We'd like to congratulate all of our finalists for the fantastic work they do to support people living with cancer.