Health and social care in Wales

Macmillan supports you to plan across the cancer pathway, to deliver improved cancer outcomes and experiences.

Local Health Boards

Health and social care is devolved to the Welsh Government. There are seven Local Health Boards (LHBs). These are large integrated organisations incorporating primary, secondary and tertiary care. For example, the Health Board covering North Wales has over 17,000 employees, three large district general hospitals and an annual budget in excess of £1bn.

NHS Trusts

There are currently also three NHS Trusts in Wales with an all-Wales focus, one of which is Velindre, which provides a range of specialist services including cancer. The other two Trusts are Public Health Wales and the Ambulance Service. Currently there are 22 local authorities in Wales. Each local health board spans a number of local authorities.

Each local health board is responsible for delivering and planning health services within its own geographical area. Equally, local authorities hold the responsibility for planning and delivering social services through joint planning with local health boards and other local stakeholders.

National Commissioning Board

The National Commissioning Board of the Social Services Improvement Agency is made up of local authority, health, Welsh Government and representation from the national provider forum. Its primary purpose is to promote and develop effective commissioning across care, community, health and well-being services across Wales.

Healthcare Inspectorate Wales

Healthcare Inspectorate Wales and the Care & Social Services Inspectorate Wales are responsible for monitoring the safety and quality of services to the public in health and social services respectively.